Blogmas Day 18: Pinteresting

Sporadic Blogmas posting continues as the semester winds down here.  I’ve finally jumped on the Pinterest bandwagon, but I had very specific motivation for doing so.

Earlier this week I ordered some tatting supplies online:  two shuttles, four different colors of thread, and two books with patterns.  I’ve been obsessing over learning to shuttle tat for several months now, and I’m so excited I’ll soon have my supplies!  They should be here in a day or two, just in time to bring on the plane with me when I start Winter break.

Anyways, I’m pretty late to Pinterest, and I’ve never been very interested (pinterested, har har) in it.  For some reason I find it kind of overwhelming.  There is just so much stuff, and so many pretty things to look at, and so many boards, and the pictures are just all over the page.  But, I was browsing through tatting patterns yesterday and ended up on Pinterest looking at some beautiful boards of tatting pictures and patterns.  And since I am so obsessed with tatting, I immediately created an account and started hoarding the pins for myself, to go back to once I’ve got my supplies.

Screen Shot 2013-12-18 at 3.02.42 PM

 

Maybe Pinterest, in all its chaotic beauty, will grow on me.  Not that I really need another source for knitting and crafting projects.  If you’d like, you can follow along with me there – I’m sure Pinterest is better with friends!

About The YarnEater

Hot beverage enthusiast and crafter. I love yarns for sweaters and yarns for books. Beginner sewist.
This entry was posted in Blogmas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blogmas Day 18: Pinteresting

  1. Hello! So exciting that your tatting supplies are on the way 🙂 I was just looking for a good starting video for you, I used this one a few years back: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4orFe4kaLw

    But I saw someone recommend this recently, which is also good: http://www.tattedtreasures.com/2011/08/the-dreaded-double-stitch/

    It does take quite a lot of patience, but once you have that one stitch down, you’ll progress really quickly. There’s also Intatters, a tatting forum, who are really helpful and encouraging: http://www.intatters.com

    Hope you have fun – good luck!

  2. I’ll be interested to read about how you get on – whether it’s difficult, etc.
    That’s if you don’t get addicted to Pinterest, first…

Leave a comment