Thursday WIP

Today I’m taking an hour or so in the middle of the afternoon to work on some socks – a knitting break can really be a great reset button for the day.  If things are going wrong, or my mood is just off for some reason, an hour of watching string turn into clothes by the power of my hands reminds me that I’m in control of some things.

Many people say that they knit to relax, but I have to admit that knitting doesn’t really relax me all that much; but I do find it meditative.  It is totally effortless for me to ‘get in the zone’ and really concentrate while I’m knitting.  So even though my brow may be scrunched up, and my shoulders creeping closer and closer to my ears, it feels good, if not super relaxing, to be so focused on something.

Ribbed Socks - February 2014

So today’s WIP, the “Ribbed Socks” from Vogue Knitting’s The Ultimate Sock Book, will actually be taking my internal experience and extending it outward, out from my head, down my arms, through my fingers, and into the little 1×1 ribbed cuff – it’s like magic.

I hope you all are finding plenty of time for knitting and other sanity-restoring activities – happy Thursday!

About The YarnEater

Hot beverage enthusiast and crafter. I love yarns for sweaters and yarns for books. Beginner sewist.
This entry was posted in Knitting Related, WIPs and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Thursday WIP

  1. Lynnette Dow says:

    who are the socks for? me? 😉

Leave a comment